Recap of first 150 poems on this blog

Today, this blog reaches another milestone – 150 poems posted in 150 days, so I am sticking to the challenge I set myself. The main fun I am getting out of this is to rediscover poems and poets that I used to know well, but have neglected. There is enough raw material in that category that I don’t have to try and discover new poets or poems. That would be fun also, but I have chosen to go the direction of revisiting what I know I like, and getting pleasure and surprise from those poems.

So as in the previous recaps, after 50 poems and after 100 poems, I will try to summarise the poets and poems that I have featured, and which appear to be most popular with the readers of this blog. Here goes…
After 150 poems posted, here are the top 10 in terms of the number of times they had been viewed. By all the visitors to this blog:

1. Clement Marot – “A Une Damoyselle Malade“, from 16th century France (blog post Oct 12, 2014)
2. Siegfried Sassoon – “The General“, from 20th century England (blog post Oct 5, 2014)
3. TS Eliot – “Hysteria“, from 20th century England (blog post Nov 19, 2014)
4. Paul Verlaine- “Mon rêve familier“, from 19th century France (blog post Dec 2, 2014)
5. Christina Rossetti- ” Song“, from 19th century England (blog post Jan 6, 2015)
6. Francis Jammes – “J’aime dans les temps Clara d’Ellébeuse” from 19th century France (blog post Dec 18, 2014)
7. Pierre de Ronsard – “Bel aubépin“, from 16th century France (blog post Dec 5, 2014)
8. Rosalia de Castro – ” Del rumor cadencioso de la onda“, from 19th century Spain (blog post Dec 7, 2014)
9. WB Yeats – “An Irish airman foresees his death“, from 20th century Ireland (blog post Nov 27, 2014)
10. Marc-Antoine Girard de Saint-Amant – “La Pipe“, from 17th century France (blog post Jan 21, 2015)
 

To get to 150 poems, I have so far chosen from the works of 44 named poets, plus some anonymous medieval ballads from Spain and Ireland. Of the 44, 18 wrote in English, 13 in French and 13 in Spanish . ( I include Galician and Catalan verse in the Spanish category)

In terms of the number of poems in each language, English poems come top, with 53, then 50 in Spanish and 47 in French.
In terms of when these poems were written, here is the distribution by century:

9th: 1 poet, 1 poem
15th – 3 poets, 11 poems
16th – 9 poets, 32 poems
17th – 5 poets, 20 poems
18th -1 poet, 2 poems
19th – 8 poets, 28 poems
20th – 18 poets, 56 poems

And once again I have compiled the top 10 poets, in terms of the numbers of views for all their poems combined, posted so far. Here it is, and it represents a slight reshuffle compared to the first 100, but no dramatic changes:

1. Clement Marot
2. Pierre de Ronsard
3. TS Eliot
4. Antonio Machado
5. Siegfried Sassoon
6. Marc-Antoine Girard de Saint-Amant
7. Luis de Gongora
8. WB Yeats
9. Rosalia de Castro
10. Francisco de Quevedo

Although I would have liked all 46 poets to get into the top 10, I realise that might be a bit unreasonable. I can console myself with the fact that they must all be in the top 50. I find it slightly surprising that neither Shakespeare nor Baudelaire made it into the top 10 – surely these are the elite of poets in any selection, perhaps it is because people think they are already too familiar with their work. Well, maybe, but I am finding that there is a lot of pleasure and discovery in revisiting familiar works. Try it…

As always, please feel free to send me any comments or suggestions to poetrytreasures@gmail.com, or, of course, you can post comments directly on the site.

 
The Poetry Dude

Leave a Reply

