Ya en los campos de Jaén,

This is one of several poems by Machado in which he is travelling by train, in a third class compartment, gazing out of the window at the countryside which he loved and musing/daydreaming nostalgically about lost loves, lost opportunities, aging, life as it is rather than life as he had wanted it to be. It’s a fairly commonplace theme, but Machado does it so well.

Antonio Machado

Otro viaje

 
Ya en los campos de Jaén,
amanece. Corre el tren
por sus brillantes rieles,
devorando matorrales,
alcaceles,
terraplenes, pedregales,
olivares, caseríos,
praderas y cardizales,
montes y valles sombríos.
Tras la turbia ventanilla,
pasa la devanadera
del campo de primavera.
La luz en el techo brilla
de mi vagón de tercera.
Entre nubarrones blancos,
oro y grana;
la niebla de la mañana
huyendo por los barrancos.
¡Este insomne sueño mío!
¡Este frío
de un amanecer en vela!…
Resonante,
jadeante,
marcha el tren. El campo vuela.
Enfrente de mí, un señor
sobre su manta dormido;
un fraile y un cazador
?el perro a sus pies tendido?.
Yo contemplo mi equipaje,
mi viejo saco de cuero;
y recuerdo otro viaje
hacia las tierras del Duero.
Otro viaje de ayer
por la tierra castellana
?¡pinos del amanecer
entre Almazán y Quintana!?
¡Y alegría
de un viajar en compañía!
¡Y la unión
que ha roto la muerte un día!
¡Mano fría
que aprietas mi corazón!
Tren, camina, silba, humea,
acarrea
tu ejército de vagones,
ajetrea
maletas y corazones.
Soledad,
sequedad.
Tan pobre me estoy quedando
que ya ni siquiera estoy
conmigo, ni sé si voy
conmigo a solas viajando.

From <http://www.poemas-del-alma.com/otro-viaje.htm&gt;

Poetically, this piece works very well by means of the rhythm of the short lines, some repetition of consonants, sequences of words, mimicking the rhythm and sounds of the train rattling over the tracks.

I also interpret the slight undercurrent of alienation which comes through as derived from the location of the scene, near Jaen, in Andalucia, away from the poet’s native Castille. But I might be overinterpreting.

Wouldn’t it be great to have a collection of train poems like this to take on train journeys. Now there’s a project.

The Poetry Dude

One thought on “Ya en los campos de Jaén,

Leave a Reply

