I wanted your soft verges

Liverpool poet Adrian Henri making a poem with a pun. The title is longer than the poem itself. And the character in the title would be unrecognizable today. When was the last time anyone saw a petrol pump attendant, let alone a beautiful girl petrol pump attendant, and even more let alone on the motorway (the first service stations to go self-service, probably in the 1960s).

Song for a Beautiful Girl Petrol­ pump Attendant on the Motorway

 
I wanted your soft verges
But you gave me the hard shoulder..

From <http://www.poemhunter.com/poem/song-for-a-beautiful-girl-petrol-pump-attendant-on-the-motorway/&gt;

Apart from that, I am totally in sympathy with the sentiments expressed in this poem. Long live the soft verges…

The Poetry Dude

8 thoughts on “I wanted your soft verges

  1. There are some interesting points over time in this article but I don’t know
    if I see all of them center to center. There is some quality but I’ll get hold belief until I consider it more.

    Excellent post, thanks and we want more!

    Like

  2. The next time I read a blog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me around this one.
    I mean, I know it had been my option to learn, but I really thought youd have anything interesting to say.

    Like

Leave a Reply

