WINE comes in at the mouth

What a rich mixture of poems we can find with WB Yeats – love poems, Irish folk poems, war poems, political poems, poems of loss, aging poems, etc etc. I am always pleasantly surprised by what I find when I dip into his works. This poem is a wine, women and song poem, such as we might have seen from Ronsard, Villon, Fitzgerald or Baudelaire.

A Drinking Song

 
WINE comes in at the mouth
And love comes in at the eye;
That’s all we shall know for truth
Before we grow old and die.
I lift the glass to my mouth,
I look at you, and I sigh.

From <http://www.poemhunter.com/poem/a-drinking-song/&gt;

A simple rhyme for a simple idea; but which comes first, the wine or the love – that’s a chicken and egg question.

The Poetry Dude

Standard

Leave a Reply

