Parfois, tout d’un coup, sans cause visible, s’étend sur moi un grand frisson de bonheur.

This poem on happiness by Henri Michaux is somewhat unusual in the way it deals with a fairly common theme in poetry. For there is nothing here about the causes, context or consequences of happiness. The poem focusses entirely on the sensations of happiness, the spine-tingling moment when your whole body experiences a moment of exhilaration, of plenitude, of happiness. There is no place here for reasoning, for interpretation, for justifications, it is the physical experience itself which both denotes and conveys happiness in the moment.

And at the end of the poem, look how the poet shakes it off and moves on…

BONHEUR

PAR HENRI MICHAUX

Parfois, tout d’un coup, sans cause visible, s’étend sur moi un grand frisson de bonheur.

Venant d’un centre de moi-même si intérieur que je l’ignorais, il met, quoique roulant à une vitesse extrême, il met un temps considérable à se développer

jusqu’à mes extrémités.

Ce frisson est parfaitement pur.

Si longuement qu’il chemine en moi, jamais il ne rencontre d’organe bas, ni d’ailleurs d’aucune sorte, ni ne rencontre non plus idées ni sensations, tant est absolue son

intimité.

Et

Lui et moi sommes parfaitement seuls.

Peut-être bien, me parcourant dans toutes mes parties, demande-t-il au passage à celles-ci : «

Eh bien? ça va?

Est-ce que je peux faire quelque chose pour vous ici? »

C’est possible, et qu’il les réconforte à sa façon.

Mais je ne suis pas mis au courant.

Je voudrais aussi crier mon bonheur, mais quoi dire? cela est si strictement personnel.

Bientôt la jouissance est trop forte.

Sans que je m’en rende compte, en quelques secondes cela est devenu une souffrance atroce, un assassinat.

La paraiysie! me dis-je.

Je fais vite quelques mouvements, je m’asperge de beaucoup d’eau, ou plus simplement, je me couche sur le ventre et cela passe.

From <http://www.poemes.co/bonheur.html>

The sensation of happiness is paradoxical – it has no known cause, but comes from deep inside the poet. It comes on extremely fast, but takes a long time to pervade throughout his body. He imagines a conversation between the sensation and his body parts, as it travels, but a conversation in which the poet’s conscious self can take no part. Soon the sensation becomes too strong, almost indistinguishable from suffering, as if he was being murdered or paralysed. At that point, the poet’s conscious self takes action – either take a shower or lie down to recover.

You can have too much of a good thing.

The Poetry Dude

Leave a Reply

